Skip to main content


Showing posts from May, 2017

[Book Notes] The 5 Love Languages

People speak different love languages. We must be willing to learn our spouse's primary love language if we are to be effective communicators of love.

* Words of Affirmation
* Quality Time
Giving someone your undivided attention.
Quality conversation - sympathetic dialogue where two individuals are sharing their experiences, thoughts, feelings and desires in a friendly, uninterrupted context.
She didn't want advice when she told me about her struggles at work. She wanted sympathy.
    * Maintain eye contact when your spouse is talking
    * Don't listen to your spouse and do something else at the same time.
    * Listen for feeling.
    * Observe body language
    * Refuse to interrupt
Dead sea vs. Babbling brook
* Receiving Gifts
A gift is something you can hold in hand and say "Look, he was thinking of me".
Gifts need not be expensive.
Don't wait for special occasion.
You are investing in your relationship and filling your spouse's emotional love tank.